In December 1884, one month after the G.A.A. was founded, a group of men gathered in Clondalkin to form a Gaelic Football Club. Among those present were David Molloy, J. Wixted, J. Carroll, J. Keogh, C. Ryder, P. Doran, The Errity Brothers one of whom, Tom, was later to win All-Ireland Senior medals with Dublin in ’92’, ’94, ’98, ’99 and 1902.

Towers won their first competition, the Baltyboys Tournament in 1889 They won their first Dublin Trophy — the Junior League in 1910 with Matt Nolan as Captain. They again won the Junior League and Junior Championship in 1926 and — would you believe it — with Matt Nolan again as Captain.

Success in the Leixlip Tournament of 1928 is noteworthy because St. Mary’s Leixlip included the two Kildare “greats” Larry Stanley and Matt Goff. The Club had attained Senior status in the thirties and three of its members, Tom Dowd Paddy Hickey and Billy Dowling played for Dublin and Leinster.

The Club lost the 1941 Junior Championship but won the 1942 League to regain Senior status. They contested the Intermediate Championship finals in 1948,1950 and 1951 and defeated O’Dwyers in the I.L.F. in 1951, and went on to win the Intermediate Championship in 1952.

Winners of the Under 21 Dublin Championship in its inauguration year 1964, this same team challenged strongly for senior championship honours up to 1970 G. Freyne. P. Barrett, G. Gray, D. Keating, T. Higgins and C. Dowling were all prominent members of that team. This feat was repeated 25 years later in 1989 when the Club won the Under 21 A championship for the second time .

Paddy Delaney, Tony, his son, Fred Kavanagh, Michael Egan and Jim Gavin are all holders of All-Ireland medals. Others include John O’Malley and Paddy Taylor who along with Paddy Delaney were ALL -Ireland Minor football Winners with Dublin in 1959.